History of the Royal Family

The royal family is an important source of support for our country. The royal house, House of Orange-Nassau, has been connected to the Netherlands since the 15th century. From this moment on, the Oranges make an important contribution to the government of the Netherlands. Here is a brief history and current members. An overview of the most important points of our royal family.


In 1403 the royal house is; House of Orange-Nassau was created. Count Engelbrecht I of Nassau marries Johanna van Polanen, lady of Breda. Johanna belongs to the highest nobles of our country. Count Engelbrecht gains more and more power. They also had a number of children, including Count Henry II of Nassau (1483-1538). Count Henry II was involved in the education of Emperor Charles V. He married and had a son named Rene van Charlon.

Rene van Charlon inherits the sovereign principality of Orange when his parents die. Rene van Charlon himself died childless in 1544 and left his possessions to his German cousin William of Nassau. The then Prince Willem of Nassau is the ancestor of the House of Orange-Nassau.

William of Orange, has the honorable title of Father of the Fatherland, nicknamed William the Silent. Now there is a lot of talk about this nickname. The nickname does not stem from Willen van Oranje’s silence, but because he never showed the back of his tongue. William of Orange had many titles, several marriages and had many children. He died in 1584.


Until 1795, the Netherlands was a republic, consisting of the federation of states and the republic of the Seven United Netherlands. Due to the influence of the French, the Netherlands became a single state and was called the Batavian Republic. This time lasted only four years from 1806 to 1810. In 1813 the Netherlands regained its independence and then in 1814 the first constitution for the monarchy was introduced.

In 1815, Congress Vienna determined that the Northern and Western parts of the Netherlands would be united. From that moment on, Willem Frederik proclaimed himself king of the new Netherlands. King William I. The southern part of the Netherlands separated from the northern part in 1830 and joined the Treaty of London in 1839. This was the beginning of a new kingdom called Belgium. The Kingdom of the Netherlands was founded in the nineteenth century, where the first reigning monarch was King William I.

Royal family now

Since the nineteenth century, the royal family has known several kings and queens. Princess of Orange-Nassau Beatrix Wilhelmina Armgard was born in 1938. She is the daughter of Queen Juliana, also called Juliana of the Netherlands, and Bernhard van Lippe-Biesterveld. Juliana ruled from September 4, 1948 to April 30, 1980, succeeding her mother Wilhelmina. Beatrix succeeded her mother on April 30, 1980 (Queen’s Day).

Queen Beatrix married Claus von Amsberg and three sons were born from their marriage. Willem-Alexander Claus George Ferdinant (April 27, 1967), Johan Friso Bernhard Christiaan David (September 25 , 1968) and Constantijn Christof Frederik Aschwin (October 11, 1969). It will not have escaped anyone’s notice that Willem-Alexander is currently married to Maxima Zorreguieta and that he will take over the throne from his mother in the future.